IRN Awards 2013 nominations announced

Mar 2013  Radio News

The event is to be hosted by Sky News and Sky Sports presenter Sarah-Jane Mee and will take place at the Century Club on London’s Shaftesbury Avenue.

Managing Director, Tim Molloy, said: “The IRNawards have become the place for commercial radio news teams to showcase their finest journalism. We have also added a new Rising Star category for student journalists keen to make their mark on the industry.

Across the board, the standard of entries has been extremely high and the judges have had their work cut out deciding who takes home the prizes.”

The nominees are:

Best News Team or Newsroom under 750,000 TSA

Radio Aire
Jack FM Hertfordshire
Mix 96

Best News Team or Newsroom over 750,000 TSA

Real Radio Scotland
Wave 105
Capital East Midlands

Best News Special or Feature

Don’t Bet On It (Radio City 96.7)
Gangs (Capital East Midlands)
Ciaran’s Cause (Real Radio North West)

Best Sports Story

Rangers In Crisis: The Demise Of An Institution (Clyde 1 & Clyde 2)
Memories of 1948: What Was It Like Last Time? (Glide FM)
If Yorkshire Was A Country: Olympics 2012 (Yorkshire Radio)

Newsreader of the Year

Simon Conway (Metro Radio)
Paula Hughes (Real Radio Wales)
Aileen O’Sullivan (Kiss / The Hits)

Reporter of the Year

Dan Freedman (LBC 97.3)
Natalie Glanvill-Rose (Real Radio Yorkshire News)
Rebecca Dixon (Metro Radio)

Rising Star Award

Yasmin Khan (London College of Communication)
Dave Rhodes (Sheffield University / Mansfield 103.2)
Hannah Smith (University Radio York)

And Finally Award

Olympic Uniform Battle (Absolute Radio)
The Love Plane (Real Radio Yorkshire)
Eat For Free (Metro Radio)

The judging panel includes Sky News presenter Kay Burley, the BBC’s Jon Sopel, Coronation Street actress Michelle Collins, former England international footballer Danny Mills and talent manager Andy Hipkiss.

A Gold Award which recognises outstanding contribution to the commercial radio industry will also be presented on the night.

Call us to plan your campaign

0207 907 0670 / 01228 580 380

The RadioWorks Group